

Established under Govt. of Odisha Act 4 of 2019

School of Liberal Arts NATIONAL LITERARY SYMPOSIUM

25th February 2023 "Trauma and Tension in Contemporary Literature"



Shiksha Vihar, Post : ASBM University, Bhola (Chandaka), Bhubaneswar - 754012, Tel. : +91 674 2374801 / 02 / 03 / 04 / 05 | For details, please visit: www.asbm.ac.in "Literature always anticipates life," said Oscar Wilde. Life is the stuff of which literature is made. The true literary artist by his vision and imagination transforms bare and crude facts into things of beauty. Noble literature not only gives aesthetic pleasure but also stimulates the mind by providing food for thought. So life and literature are intertwined, and literature influences life no less than life influences literature.

The late twentieth and early twenty-first centuries have been dominated by multifarious catastrophes – terrorism, radicalism, economic crises, natural calamities, pandemics, wars, genocide, displacement, and so on. It is a VUCA world today – volatile, uncertain, complex, and ambiguous. Life is now beset with trauma and tension, and psychological disorders and even suicides have become commonplace.

This National Symposium will provide a platform for men of literature – eminent writers, literary critics, and academicians – to debate and discuss trauma and tension in contemporary literature. The participants will get a vivid and panoramic view of how literature deals with trauma and tension in life and how it facilitates human beings to cope with pain and sufferings with harmony.

The eminent speakers, who will grace the symposium are (in alphabetical order)-

Inaugural Session:



Dr. Bishnupada Sethi, IAS Principal Secretary, Department of Higher Education, Government of Odisha



Dr. Gourahari Das Eminent writer; Winner of the Kendra Sahitya Akademi Award; Features Editor, The Sambad; and Editor, 'Katha'



Shri Haraprasad Das Eminent writer; Winner of the Kendra Sahitya Akademi Award; and Former Deputy Comptroller and Auditor General of India



Dr. Mrinal Chatterjee Eminent writer; Journalist; and Director, Indian Institute of Mass Communication (IIMC), Dhenkanal

Plenary Session for Panel Discussion:



Dr. Amulya Kishore Purohit Eminent literary critic; Former Director, Higher Education, Govt. of Odisha; and Former Professor, Ravenshaw Universitu



Dr. Bhagaban Jayasingh Eminent Writer; Winner of the Odisha Sahitya Akademi Award; and Former Professor & Dean, ASBM University



Shri Dash Benhur (Prof. Jitendra Narayan Dash)

Eminent writer; Winner of the Kendra Sahitya Akademi Award; and Former Principal, S C S College, Puri



Dr. Jatindra Kumar Nayak Eminent translator & literary critic; and Former Professor, Utkal University

Programme Schedule:

- Date 25.02.2023 (Saturday)
- Inaugural session 11.00 am to 1.00 pm
- Plenary session 2.00 pm to 4.00 pm
- Venue Central Auditorium, ASBM University, Bhola (Chandaka), Bhubaneswar

Who should attend: Anyone who loves literature

Participation Fee:

Participants	Early bird (By : 20 Feb 2023)		Normal	
	Indian	Foreigner	Indian	Foreigner
Students	Rs. 300	\$10	Rs. 400	\$ 15
Faculty members and Research scholars	Rs. 500	\$ 20	Rs. 600	\$ 25
Professionals, Corporate Executives & others	Rs. 1000	\$ 40	Rs. 1200	\$ 50



BHIM UPI Payment Accepted at ASBM UNIVERSITY

* No fee for the faculty members and students of ASBM University.

Deliverables to the registered participants:

Admission to the symposium, Symposium kit, Lunch, and Participation certificate.

Registration link Bank details Name of Account Account Number **IFSC Code**

- https://forms.gle/TXEUdGrYFizcQSjb6 :
 - HDFC Bank, Chandrasekharpur Branch
- : **ASBM University**
- 50200046408118 .
- HDFC0001252



About ASBM University:

ASBM University was established in 2019 by the Government of Odisha through an Act of the Odisha State Legislature. It traces its legacy to Asian School of Business Management (ASBM), which was established at Bhubaneswar in the year 2006 as a standalone autonomous Business School and had earned a name for its quality delivery resulting in national and international accreditation, including global accreditation by the Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP), USA. ASBM University now offers cutting-edge academic programmes through five Schools, namely, School of Business, School of Accountancy, School of Liberal Arts, School of Information System, and School of Law.

ORGANISING COMMITTEE

CHIEF PATRON



Dr. Biswajeet Pattanayak Founder & President, ASBM University

PATRONS



Dr. Kalyan Shankar Ray Vice - President, ASBM University

COORDINATOR



Prof. Emily Pandey Assistant Professor, ASBM University (Email: emily.pandey@asbm.ac.in) Ph.: +91 79789 64003



Dr. Ranjan Kumar Bal Vice-Chancellor, ASBM University



Dr. Phalgu Niranjana Pro-Vice-Chancellor, ASBM University

CO- COORDINATORS



Prof. Daisy Irani Patnaik Assistant Professor, ASBM University (Email: daisy.patnaik@asbm.ac.in) Ph.: +91 97052 25111

ASBM University

Established under Govt. of Odisha Act 4 of 2019

Shiksha Vihar, Post: ASBM University, Bhola (Chandaka), Bhubaneswar - 754012, Tel.: +91 674 2374801 / 02 / 03 / 04 / 05 | Website: www.asbm.ac.in



Dr. Ananya Dash Assistant Professor, ASBM University (Email: ananya.dash@asbm.ac.in) Ph.: +91 70024 69179